Lingvonyma v ústavách jugoslávského státu (1918–1992) a jeho svazových republik

Title in English Linguonyms in the constitutions of the Yugoslav state (1918–1992) and its federal republics


Year of publication 2015
Type Appeared in Conference without Proceedings
MU Faculty or unit

Faculty of Arts

Description The contribution analyzes the constitutional articles of the Yugoslav state (1918–1992) and its four „Serbo-Croatian“ federal republics (1946–1990), that in some way allude to the language. During the monarchy the constitutional article declared the official language idealistically as Serbo-Croato-Slovene. Statutory regulation of the Independent State of Croatia (1941–1945) very precisely defined the Croatian language and prohibited the Cyrillic alphabeth. At that time, in occupied Montenegro, there was the first attempt to constitutionally enshrine the linguonym Montenegrin language. AVNOJ documents and constitutional articles of FPRY and of every of the Yugoslav people's republics immediately after the war provided the free linguonym presence of Serbian or Croatian. After the so called Novi Sad Agreement (1954) the literary forms of the language of Serbs, Croats and Montenegrins were unified in the framework of one pluricentric standard language with a mandatory two-part name (Serbo-Croatian) with two variants ("ekavian" written in Cyrillic and "ijekavian" written in the Latin alphabet), which is reflected in the respective constitutional articles. After the Croatian Declaration (1967), the Novi Sad arrangement began to be disturbed, which culminated in the language article in the Croatian Constitution of 1990.
Related projects:

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.