Chorbuch opavského farního kostela z konce 16. století

Title in English Choirbook from Parish Church of Opava from the late 16th century


Year of publication 2018
Type Article in Periodical
Magazine / Source Opus musicum
MU Faculty or unit

Faculty of Arts

Keywords choirbook; Opava; renaissance music; liturgical music
Description The study is focused on description and analysis of insufficiently reflected musical source of Silesian provenance from the end of the 16th century. It provides basic codicological characteristic of the choirbook, examination of its origin and repertoire analysis taking in account also the liturgical aspect of the pieces. The manuscript A 1775, nowadays kept in Silesian Museum in Opava, contains motets and proper chants for seasons of Advent and Christmas for four, five and six voices. Within this source, special attention is dedicated to motet for six voices Ecce Dominus veniet by Johann Knöfel, that is the only known complete record of this composition.
Related projects:

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.