Academic Senate of the Faculty of Arts of Masaryk University

News from the Senate

More news

About the Senate

The Academic Senate of the Masaryk University Faculty of Arts (hereinafter referred to as AS FF MU) is one of its self-governing academic bodies. Its members are elected for a period of three years by the academic community of the Faculty from among its members. 

The Senate consists of the Academic Staff Chamber (12 members) and the Student Chamber (9 members). Membership in the Senate is honorary, irreplaceable, and incompatible with the office of the Rector, Vice-Rector, Dean, and Vice-Dean. The AS FF MU is headed by a chair elected by the Senate from the Academic Staff Chamber and two vice-chairs, the first of whom is from the students and the second from the academic staff. 

The Senate establishes special Committees for different areas of its work: Legislative, Electoral, Finance, Conciliation, and Arbitration. The AS FF MU is governed by the Higher Education Act (Act No. 111/1998 Coll.), the Statutes of the FF MU, and the internal regulations of the Faculty: the Election Regulations and Rules of Procedure of the AS FF MU.

Powers of the AS FF MU 

The main powers of the AS FF MU include: 

  • approving the internal regulations of the Faculty proposed by the Dean’s proposal (which the Senate then passes on to the Academic Senate of Masaryk University for approval), 
  • approving the allocation of the Faculty’s financial resources and supervising their use, 
  • approving the annual report on the activities and management of the Faculty, 
  • approving the Dean’s proposals for the appointment and dismissal of members of the Faculty’s Scientific Board and the Faculty’s Disciplinary Committee,
  • making decisions on a proposal to appoint the Dean (or proposing his/her removal from office),
  • on the proposal of the Dean, also approving the long-term plan of the Faculty’s educational, scientific, research, development, artistic, or other creative activities drawn up in accordance with the long-term plan of the public higher education institution after discussion in the Faculty’s Scientific Board. 

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to the public. 

History of AS FF MU chairs

2018–till this time   doc. PhDr. Václav Štěpánek, Ph.D.
2014–2018   doc. PhDr. Jana Chamonikolasová, Ph.D.
20112014   prof. PhDr. Petr Osolsobě, Ph.D.
20082011   doc. PhDr. Jarmila Bednaříková, CSc.
20022008   Jeffrey A. Vanderziel, B.A.
20012002   doc. PhDr. Michaela Soleiman pour Hashemi, CSc.
19992001   prof. PhDr. Břetislav Horyna, Ph.D.
19961999   PhDr. Thomas Donaldson Sparling, B.A.

Senate Committees

Administrative Committee

  • doc. PhDr. Dagmar Pichová, Ph.D. (chair)
  • Mgr. et Mgr. Tomáš Weissar (vice-chair)
  • prof. PhDr. Mgr. Tomáš Knoz, Ph.D. 
  • doc. Mgr. Aleš Urválek, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Kateřina Holíková
  • Mgr. Roman Novotný 

The Committee is primarily concerned with the bureaucratic burden placed on both academic staff members and students. It collects suggestions from members of the academic community, passes them on to the management of the Faculty, and together with them tries to find ways to reduce bureaucracy and optimize administrative activities. Members of the academic community can communicate their suggestions to any member of the Committee on an ongoing basis or via an anonymous online form.

Electoral and Mandate Committee 

  • doc. PhDr. Václav Štěpánek, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Karolína Stehlíková, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Martin Březina
  • Mgr. et Mgr. Tomáš Weissar
  • Mgr. et Mgr. Stanislav Hasil

The main activity of the AS FF MU Election and Mandate Committee is the management of elections to both AS FF MU constituencies. The Committee verifies the accuracy of the list of members of the respective constituency and makes it available to the members of the constituency. It publishes the list of candidates and informs voters of the time at which they can vote for candidates. It shall ensure equal opportunities for candidates in electoral campaigns. It shall keep an electoral record of the course and result of the elections, which it shall publish in a manner that allows remote access, and shall also publish the overall results of the elections. 

Finance Committee 

  • doc. PhDr. David Zbíral, Ph.D. (chair)
  • doc. PhDr. Daniel Drápala, Ph.D.
  • prof. Mgr. Jiří Macháček, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. David Hons
  • Mgr. Ondřej Nováček 

The Committee deals with budgeting issues at the Faculty and monitors the principles and development of the Faculty’s funding at the university and national level. It discusses the internal Faculty budget methodology with the Faculty management and the Faculty Dean’s Finance Committee and proposes its adjustments with regard to the prosperity and development of the Faculty and the MU and Faculty Long-term Plan. Each year, it makes recommendations to the Academic Senate on the approval or disapproval of the budget methodology submitted by the Dean, and consequently the Faculty budget. 

Legislative Committee 

  • Jakub Zikmund (chair)
  • Mgr. Stanislav Bárta, Ph.D. 
  • prof. PhDr. Josef Krob, CSc.
  • Mgr. Kateřina Holíková
  • Šarlota Sedláčková 

Conciliation Committee 

  • Mgr. Ondřej Nováček (chair)
  • doc. PhDr. Daniel Drápala, Ph.D. 
  • prof. PhDr. Josef Krob, CSc. 
  • Mgr. Martin Březina
  • Mgr. Ondřej Varaďa 

The Conciliation Committee decides on disputes: 

  1. among members of the Faculty academic community 
  2. between a member of the Faculty academic community and a self-governing academic body of the Faculty 
  3. between self-governing academic bodies of the Faculty 

The Committee shall decide in proceedings involving the parties to the dispute. If the parties reach an agreement, the Committee shall issue a conciliation award containing the substance of the agreement. If no agreement is possible, the Committee shall make an arbitral award. The award shall be binding for the parties. Members of the academic community can communicate their suggestions to any member of the Committee on an ongoing basis or via an anonymous online form.

Science Committee

  • prof. Ivan Foletti, MA, Docteur dès Lettres
  • Mgr. et Mgr. Eva Kundtová Klocová, Ph.D.
  • prof. Mgr. Jiří Macháček, Ph.D.
  • doc. Mgr. Petra Mutlová, M.A., Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Veronika Sellner
  • prof. Mgr. Klára Šeďová, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Petr Vurm, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Libor Zajíc
  • doc. PhDr. David Zbíral, Ph.D.

The Committee follows the long-term direction of the Faculty in science, project support, and management of research from the Senate's perspective. It monitors and evaluates the methodology for evaluating Faculty's research outcomes and makes suggestions for improving support for research project investigators, the use of research opportunities, and adjustments to research policy.

Regulations and legal standards

The proceedings of the MU FA Academic Senate are governed by the following legal norms and regulations (available in Czech only): 

Site administrator

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.